Reviews

jakemister

Ontario, Canada  Mar 2017

WONDERFUL AND RELAXING

This was our second stay at Doris Stevens apartment 405 and once again it matched all our expectations. The apartment is clean and well equipped. Perfect for a couple looking for a quiet relaxing stay on this wonderful Island. The gardens and pool at Golden View are well maintained and are never crowded. There are always lounges available. The closest supermarket is a Massey Store a 5 minute walk away. In Holetown there are restaurants from the very basic beach bar to top class. Plenty of local beaches that are quiet and clean. Highly recommend both Golden View apt 405 and the entire area

Hilary P  Feb 2017

LOVELY APARTMENT

We have just stayed in apartment 422. Everything in place for a relaxing holiday. Lovely views from the balcony. Great to sit out and eat your meals or lie on the beds placed either end of the balcony. Wonderful swimming pool. Easy reach of shops and beach. We enjoyed walking over the golf course on Sandy Lane,early morning before the sun gets too hot. Would recommend a stay here and we will return.

John and Maureen October 2016
Lovely place + Lovely people = Great holiday
Anyone of independent mind wanting to take a trip to Paradise should immediately call Doris and book one of her Golden View apartments. We stayed in apt 307 this year and had our best holiday yet. The apartment is beautifully furnished and is kept spotlessly clean by Doris’s staff, Tina and Lorraine. The balcony – which gets the sun from early mid-morning and has extremely comfortable day-beds – is ideal for having a casual breakfast in the morning and an evening ‘sun-downer’ as dusk draws in and the bats begin flitting about. The Lounge is very well appointed with comfortable sofas and chair and there is satellite TV and a DVD player as well as a CD/radio sound system for the evenings in. It also has a a very convenient dining area near the kitchenette. I must admit we didn’t do much cooking, even though the kitchenette has all mod-cons – microwave, toaster, an absolutely freezing fridge, etc. as, when we did eat in, it was usually a meal from the on-site restaurant. (One tip about the takeaway meals from the Chinese restaurant: they serve really big portions – absolutely delicious – but really big…) The bedroom has ample storage space with a very large wardrobe. The bed is so comfortable. There is an air-con unit (you get tokens from reception) but to be honest we didn’t use it very often – the breeze through the apartment and the ceiling fans were usually enough to make sleeping comfortable. The roomy bathroom has a mixer shower (watch out, the hot water here is really HOT) a wash-basin with ample room for his and her toiletries and a wc. And, I must mention, some of the softest/largest towels I’ve ever used. The Golden View Condominiums are very well kept and the staff work extremely hard to keep the pool clean, the grounds neat and tidy, and the the whole complex spick-and-span. The reception staff are extremely helpful and everyone is so pleasant. And, of course, you are only a short walk away from the shops and eateries of Holetown, and the beautiful Caribbean sea. We hired a small Jeep and toured the island, using apt 307 as a base and this is why, at the start of the review,
I said this was the ideal place for anyone of an independent mind. What I mean is, its not an all-inclusive hotel where you have to eat at set times, have waiters cater to you, have to get dressed-up for dinner and pay an absolute fortune for the privilege. Staying at the Golden View in apt 307 – or one of Doris’s other apartments – it is as if you’re in a real home-from-home. You have the freedom to do as much or as little as you wish. You set your own agenda. You can have a relaxing morning, brunch at the mall, then tour parts of the island in the afternoon – we did this regularly and really enjoyed it. Some nights we stayed in, others we stuck on the glad-rags and went out for a meal, usually to the Beach House. My wife and I have been to all-inclusives in Barbados as well as on other Caribbean islands and honestly, hand-on-heart, we have never, ever had better holidays than when we’ve stayed in one of Doris’s apartments. Seriously, contact Doris and give the Golden View a try – you won’t be disappointed

jakemiste…
Ontario, Canada
January 2016.

The apartment is well equipped and maintained has an incredible view over Holetown and to the Caribbean.
The grounds at Golden View are very well kept and has one of the largest swimming pools on the Island
This property is well suited to those looking for a quiet and peaceful get-away
Golden View has a Chinese Restaurant adjacent to the pool. Good food and great pricing. It is also a short 5 minute stroll to local shops, restaurants and Massy Super Market.

Jim N
Halifax, United Kingdom
January 2016.

The apartment is very well equipped, clean, comfortable and in an ideal location. Being on the fourth floor the view from the balcony are wonderful. Supermarket, shops, beaches and excellent restaurants are only a stroll away, so no need for a car unless you want to tour the island.
We have stayed on Barbados many times in various accommodation and this rates as one of the best

Jenny 23rd January 2015

This was our third visit to Barbados and we’ve stayed at Golden View every time. The apartment is well equipped and very comfortable – sitting on the balcony you can see the Carribean over the treetops. This is a perfect location for a relaxing holiday but Barbados offers so many things to do, from the fabulous beaches to the beautiful gardens and don’t forget the rum! We hire a car but there are bus services running all over the island so a car is not essential. Close to this apartment are restaurants and eateries at a price to suit everyone, then there’s the wonderful pool, the extensive beautifully kept grounds on the site. Doris and Peter are wonderful hosts. Highly recommend a visit to the beautiful island of Barbados and this is the place to stay

Joan S
San Juan de Alicante, Spain

We have now spent 3 years in Doris and Peter’s apartments. and this year was the second in 405. The apartment is furnished tastefully and comfortably, so comfortably in act that you don´t always want to go out! The kitchen is fully equipped, and has the benefit of a large efficient fan to keep you cool while cooking. The bedroom is large and airy the benefit of air conditioning should it be needed. The setting of Golden View is beautiful and tranquil, with all amenities close at hand. Roll on next year for another month of joy

Jean Hafner

8th November 2014

As soon as one goes to the reception area, one immediately feels on holiday. Warm welcome, friendly staff and apartment owners alike – all make you feel at home and you just want to get in the stunning pool and enjoy. Apartment 307 is cosy, comfortable, all amenities available and really you couldn’t wish for anything further. Blissful settees on the balcony while you watch the boats coming into harbour, the beautiful gardens, and of course the pool which is very inviting. Very suitable for any single people because everyone is made so welcome.

 Ken & Lyndy Newell, April 2014

“A very pleasant Stay”

Comfortable and straightforward accommodation that completely suited our requirements.
The location is delightful and the security arrangements and friendly staff were much appreciated. The pool, restaurant and facilities within the grounds were excellent
The location is very convenient for the Platinum coast (200m) and local bus routes.
Highly recommended for a quiet retreat in the sun

Rosalind, Sheffield, March 2014

“Paradise”

For the second year running, we have spent five weeks in Doris and Peter’s beautiful apartment. We were so pleased to be back there and it did not disappoint. We had the most wonderful holiday yet again. The apartment has all the home comforts, you could wish for. We spent a lot of the time, just sitting by the huge swimming pool in the beautiful gardens. Everything is so handy. The supermarket is just a short walk away, which takes you through a lovely little park area. There are an abundance of places to have a meal with a range of prices. Doris’s information pack is excellent. We hired a car with no inconvenience at all, thanks to this pack. Doris and Peter are such a wonderful couple and go out of their way to help you. We are hoping that we will be able to go back in the future

Mr and Mrs James, February 2014

My wife and I stayed in apartment 307 for 6 weeks, from mid January to the end of February. Doris and Peter are wonderful hosts, meeting us when we arrived and even ensuring that we had some bread, milk etc., allowing us to head to the nearest bar for our first Banks beer, one of many!!!!

This was our second stay at 307 and we had been looking forward all year to coming back again as we enjoyed it so much last year. The apartment has everything you need for a great holiday. Being on the 3rd floor it benefits from making the most of any breeze at night with no need to run the air conditioning. The apartment has a very comfortable lounge area with loads of seating if you want to invite friends round. There is a very comfortable bed and an excellent shower with plenty of hot water at all times. We like the apartment because it is very secure having a 24hr manned reception, it’s close to Holetown with a large Super Centre supermarket and many restaurants, and it is quiet at night with no late night revelers.

Golden View is one of best condominiums on the island being unique with its superb 25m pool, beautiful gardens and excellent on-site Chinese restaurant.

We have been coming to Barbados for 6 years and staying at 307 made this the best holiday since we have been coming to Barbados.

Mr & Mrs Leach, December 2013

My husband and I booked to stay in room 307 for two weeks over Christmas and New Year. From the second we arrived, our hosts Doris and Peter made us feel unbelievably welcome, even providing us with milk on arrival so we could have a cuppa the next day (it was fairly late when we arrived).

307 was bright, spotlessly clean, fully equipped and extremely comfortable. Doris and Peter had left us a very handy ‘guide book’, full of tips and suggestions for a great stay. The views were AMAZING from the third floor….the impeccable gardens and pool deck, cruise ships twinkling and bat watching at dusk. The place was just heaven, so peaceful and chilled – no rush for beds (more than enough). There is a lovely cooling breeze that flows through the whole building, and falling asleep to the sound of the tree frogs and crickets was magical.

We regularly enjoyed early evening Banks – the local beer – at happy hour in the Chinese restaurant on the grounds (Good Choice restaurant and take away – really good value, and very generous portions).

The pool opens at 6am and closes at 10pm, and was cleaned each morning at around 7am.

To say we enjoyed our stay is a massive understatement. In fact, when our two weeks had flown by and it was time to check out, we rang the airline, put our flights back a week and booked to stay in another apartment in the complex (the lovely Doris arranged this for us!)
We have had many marvellous holidays in the past, but none have made us change our travel plans and simply refuse to go home (running the risk of losing our jobs!!)

If you are considering booking one of Doris and Peters apartments in this condominium block, then I would say ‘Do Not Hesitate‘. They are close to all amenities, beach, banks, bus stops, restaurants and the fabulous Surfside for all the football matches.

I am pricing up flights for our return already!!!!

Rachel, November 2013

My husband and I recently spent two weeks in apartment 307 at Golden View Apartments. We had an amazing holiday, not only was the apartment excellent value and ideally located the owners Doris and Peter made us feel so welcome.
I would certainly recommend here if you are looking for a holiday to relax but with the option of having restaurants, pubs, shops and more importantly the beach only a five minute walk away.
It was so good that we booked for 2014 before we left.

Janet and Brian Farminer, Jan 2013

We have recently stayed at this holiday apartment in Golden View. Of all the accommodation we’ve rented over the past 25 years when we have traveled the world – yours is the best. A delightful setting, large balcony overlooking well kept gardens, large swimming pool and sea, helpful caring staff and excellent apartment facilities all made for a truly relaxing holiday. We would certainly recommend the apartment.

Ray and Jo, Middlesborough

A superb apartment well equipped and extremely comfortable-a true home from home. We had a great holiday and will be returning for the fourth time. The apartment is very well situated just a short walk to the beach and all amenities.

Ronald and Barbara, Dorset

For the eighth year in succession we are looking forward with great anticipation to our month in Barbados. We learned of this delightful apartment owned by Mr and Mrs Stephens in 2003 and our only regret is that we did not know of it sooner. We had visited the island on previous occasions, but the opportunity to stay for a relatively long period in such surroundings has proved to be a great success.

The apartment itself is ideal for our purposes. It is obviously a “home”,

Personally furnished for comfort. It has air conditioning, but we have found the position on the top floor and the clever design of the building means that at night a flow of cool air is available without mechanical assistance.

Breakfasts on the balcony are a wonderful start to the day and although we continue to explore the many local restaurants in the evenings the occasional dinner in the apartment, watching the sun go down over the sea, is a memorable event.

The swimming pool is ideal, the convenience of a small bar/restaurant alongside is a bonus. Shops are within a few minutes walk and access to fine stretches of beach will add two more minutes. We no longer hire a car for the whole period, although cost was reasonable. Taxis are cheap, and readily available, and the islands’s buses can be exciting.

Altogether a delightful holiday, the accommodation provides an ideal base to rest or explore this fascinating island.

Jacqueline and Robert, County Antrim Northern Ireland

This is affordable paradise! Why pay the fancy prices to stay with the rich and famous. This place has everything. Comfort. Position. 24 hour Reception. A fantastic swimming pool and gardens with sun lounges and umbrellas at no extra charge and you don’t have to be up at some unearthly hour to reserve your spot.! Just a short stroll to the fantastic beaches which are shared by the rich as there are no private beaches on this island.

There are plenty of restaurants to choose from too. We were very impressed and hope to visit again very soon.

Gary & Lorraine, Norfolk

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday in Barbados.  This apartment is ideal, it is adequately furnished to fulfil all your needs.  The views of the sun setting are stunning.  It has lovely grounds and the swimming pool is great, a lovely place to cool down.  The on site restaurant/bar is excellent and very reasonably priced.  The apartment is ideally situated to discover this beautiful island, nowhere is more that a bus or taxi ride away.  Scuba diving is also available locally in Holetown at West Side Scuba.  Holetown has many lovely restaurants and the local people are welcoming and friendly.  The beach is just a stroll away, where you can take in the local culture and enjoy the beautiful sandy beaches.  We would highly recommend this apartment, the owners are very nice and nothing is too much trouble.  It is also extremely good value considering where you are situated on the west coast.  We thank them very much for our enjoyable stay.

Mike Hales

A first-class apartment – better than the pictures. Fully equipped and overlooking a large pool with restaurant and the afternoon/evening sun.  Near enough to beaches, restaurants, shops and bars to easily walk but far enough away to be quiet and secure (not a vital pre-requisite). Very helpful guide in apartment and probably necessary air-con available in bedroom.  Cannot recommend highly enough. Very helpful owners.  You will have a perfect holiday here – we did.

Margaret and Keith, Lancashire

The apartment is superb.Beautifully furnished and so comfortable. Two settees on the private terrace were ideal for serious sunbathing and reading. The bedroom has large fitted wardrobes and a fabulous walk in shower room. The kitchen has every appliance you need but we ate out at alot at the many restaurants.
Doris’ detailed notes were a great help in finding places. We enjoyed our walks around the estate and fed the many monkeys we came across. The large pool and tropical gardens had plenty of sunloungers and you could always find your place in the shade. Holetown is definitely the most convenient place. We walked on the fabulous beaches for miles then had a Barbados rum punch before catching the bus back. Fabulous. We’ll be back.

Emma

We had a lovely time in Barbados. The apartment had everything we needed and was well equipped and extremely well located. The pool area is delightful and it was great to get up in the morning and have a swim before the day got too hot.We made good use of the local supermarket which was a five minute walk away as well as the
adjacent public transport from which we explored the whole of the island’s West Coast from the very northern tip down to Oistins on the South Coast.

McCairn, Shropshire

Excellent location, easy walking distance for restaurants, shops and fantastic beaches. Easy to hire a car for getting about. Doris was very helpful with a file of information in the apartment. The staff and security on the desk were very accommodating and friendly. Would stay here again.

Idris, Colchester

Beautifully presented apartment. Well equipped and very clean with good maid service and comfortable beds in light and airy bedroom. Large balcony, wonderful sunsets and perfect for breakfast/lunch. Excellent location for sightseeing and convenient for beaches and shopping. The owner has provided a very useful brochure giving all the information you need and more. We had a lovely stay here and can recommend without reservation.

Pinky Wiesbaden, Germany

We had a wonderful holiday in May 2010 in Mrs S apartment. The apt is a home from home, very well looked after , beautifully furnished and everything provided for one could possibly need .The maid service was excellent.,The view of the the sea and the gardens is breathtaking.
The condominium is very central and in walking distance to restaurants , shopping centre and the banks, and 10 minutes walk to the beach.
We will certainly be back . We had a good time and felt very happy in the condominium, a very happy experience

Mark and Alison, Chester, Cheshire

Date of Stay: January 2011
A well equipped apartment on 3rd floor with large balcony. This apartment where we spent 3 weeks is situated in delightful tropical gardens with a large swimming pool with lots of sunbeds and lots of shade if wanted.It was great to be able to be so close to everything and yet in a very peaceful spot.The supermarket was a short stroll away along with lots of restaurants. Doris was extremley helpful with lots of information on hand.This was our 3rd time in Holetown and in our opinion the best place on the Island to stay. This apartment is excellent and we recommend it to everyone

Kerry

It is difficult to fault our experience on Barbados and at Golden View (we stopped in apartment 307) – It was a great base to explore the island – The apartment is within easy walking distance of Holetown, it’s bars restaurants and beaches, yet felt like a little haven of tranquility which you looked forward to getting back to after a days adventuring – The pool was excellent and never crowded but those people you did meet were sociable and friendly – The owners Doris and Peter were lovely, friendly and always helpful – The apartment was a credit to them and really felt like a home from home, we did not want to leave and will return soon

 Viv and John, Bristol, 9th September 2012

“This was our first time in Barbados (we should have come years ago!) and we could not have asked for a better holiday. Having hired a car and driven around and across the island several times, and walked extensively in the locality, we can say that Holetown is the best location on the island, and best base for a holiday, and Golden View was very good, affordable accommodation and somewhere we will want to return to. The complex is only a short walk to the beach, bars and restaurants, the bus stops for the brilliant reggae buses, and the supermarket and shops, and is in excellent grounds, with a large pool, and A very convenient bar/Chinese restaurant, and the staff are genuinely very friendly and helpful – a national characteristic. We met a number of holidaymakers staying in and around Holetown who had clearly seen the apartment on the internet and having talked about our various experiences a common reaction was ‘I wish we had gone there!’ We will definitely be coming back.